The lesser of two evils?

If you're a believer, looking for a debate or attempting to make a correction - this forum is just for you!

The lesser of two evils?

Postby kpw » Tue Aug 08, 2006 1:25 pm

Ok I know this isn't a place for introductions, but hello! : ) I'm a 17-year old student from Singapore and chanced upon this forum while browsing through alt.atheism, which I in turn chanced upon when randomly googling stuff. Haha yup, so here goes my attempt at initiating a discussion:

An undeniable fact is that religion does, in many circumstances, compel people to do good. Of course it is and has been the cause of many terrible conflicts; but let us for the purposes of this question assume that we have managed to teach religious tolerance and religious harmony in such a way that these conflicts are no longer a problem, and hence we do not have fanatics evangelizing and proselytizing in an aggresive manner, nor do we have people of frankly questionable intellect pushing for the teaching of 'Intelligent Design' in high schools. Neither do we, in our hypothetical society, have people who claim to be helping others but are actually merely furthering their own religious agenda; for example, people who included in help packages to the Middle East and Iraq, along with medical supplies and foodstuffs, copies of the Bible in Arabic.

In this situation we are then better able to consider the beneficial effects of religion. For example, religion has helped many a drug addict rehabilitate and recover; religion has provided much needed emotional support to those suffering from severe bereavement; religion has given ex-convicts, disillusioned people, and all other sorts a new lease on life, renewed vigour in their daily activities, and a much more hopeful and optimistic worldview.